top of page

The 30 Book Challenge is On...

...and I have read 4 books already!

Screen Shot 2014-08-25 at 11.24.04 AM.png

As many of you know, I have challenged all of my students to read 30 books this year! This is a challenge I have made every year to encourage them to read more often. Each year I have many students reach their goal, but all students report they have read more than ever before! And, that means they are becoming better readers!

Research has shown over and over again that reading is the most important thing a child can do to be a better reader! That is why I am challenging my students to read more than me!

Students can choose whatever books they want, but I encourage them to try new genres. I have sent home a recommendation sheet to keep and track the different genres your child has read. The form also is available for printing here.

The books need to be good fit books, so they can read appropriate material. I have been working with students to learn how to choose books that are appropriate and will discuss that in a future post here.

Once a book is finished, students are expected to record their reading on a form attached to the class website. You can find the form under the important link tab on the website.

If your child does not have access to a computer they are welcome to fill out and return a paper copy of the form. I like to limit this to only those students without computer access to reduce the amount of paper being used.

Your children know about this challenge, but after 6 weeks of school I have had only 4 of my 32 students record any books! It is an expectation that students are reading an average of at least 20 minutes EVERY DAY! Your children know this and it is recorded in their agendas every day.

Please help your child by encouraging him/her to read at home by ensuring there is time available. It makes a great way to unwind after a long day so students can fall asleep faster too!

As always, please let me know if you have any questions.

~ Mrs. Cryer

Announcements:

Field trips: Tuesday is our field trip to the Ogunquit Museum of Art. If your child has not yet brought in a permission slip, please be sure to send it in on Monday. If we do not receive a permission slip, your child will not be allowed to go!

Our next field trip is to the Portland Symphony in October. Permissions slips for that trip will go home on Tuesday. Please return them as soon as possible.

Book orders for Mrs. Cryer’s class are due on October 13. You can order and pay online by going to www.scholastic .com. If you are purchasing books as a gift, please let me know and I will arrange to get them to you on the sly!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page